INS Business Meeting February 14, 2014 Seattle, WA

Call to Order

President Jennie Ponsford called the meeting to order and welcomed the participants at 5:40 pm.

Treasurer Report

Dr. Chelune reported that the society is doing well and we are financially solvent.

Executive Secretary Report

Dr. Robert Bornstein reported that membership is more or less stable at around 4600 members. There has been a drop of couple hundred members representing a seven percent decline. The largest growth has been in student numbers. We will review demographics to understand the drop in membership. Dr. Bornstein will accompany Dr. Chelune on site visits during the transition period.

Elections

Dr. Bornstein announced the results of the elections: Kathy Haaland – President; Bruce Hermann – Treasurer; Guy Vingerhoets, Emilia Łojek, and Peter Arnett - Members at Large.

Future Meetings

Dr. Bornstein announced the following site selections: Jerusalem July 9 - 11,2014

2015

Hyatt Regency Denver February 4-7, 2015 Sydney Sofitel Wentworth Sydney, Australia July 1-4, 2015

2016

Boston February 2-6 Marriott Copley Square London July 5-8 Riverbank Park Plaza

2017/2022

Marriott New Orleans February 1-4, 2017 and February 2-5, 2022

2018/2023

Dr. Bornstein was also able to negotiate a rate of \$199/night in Washington D.C. at the Marriott Washington Wardman Park.

The mid-year meeting location has not been determined but we are considering South America, Singapore, Hong Kong, and South Africa.

INS Office Transition

Tandy Pietro and Chandal Marx were introduced as the new office staff. The new office is open for business and has a new E-mail address and phone numbers. Dr. Bornstein and his staff have been extremely gracious sharing their knowledge from the past 20 years.

Strategic Planning

This has been put on hold until the new executive secretary is in place. Dr. Bornstein is staying to work with Dr. Chelune to transfer duties and responsibilities.

Program Chair

Dr. Jennifer Vasterling thanked Dr. Ponsford for inviting her to Chair the Program Committee. She was especially appreciative to be Program Chair during the special meeting to honor Bob Bornstein. Sue O'Brien and Ave

Sofranko have been so helpful. She also thanked Dorene Rentz for serving as a mentor. Registered partiporants numbered 1715 with 1018 Abstract submissions repsenting 19 countries. Dr. Ponford thanked Dr. Vasterling for following through with all the plans.

The following awards were presented at this meeting:

Rennick Award (Best Graduate Student Abstract): Sara Heverly-Fitt,. University of Maryland Investigating a Proposed Model of Social Competence in Children with Traumatic Brain Injuries (TBI) Butters Award (Best Post-doctoral Fellow Abstract): Joseph van Steenburgh, Ph.D., Johns Hopkins School of Medicine

Transcranial Direct Current Stimulation Changes Frontoparietal Control Network Connectivity Associated with Working Memory Performance in High-Functioning Autism

Cermak Award (Best Abstract Addressing Memory or Memory Disorders): Lynn Oelke, Ph.D., University of South Florida, Source Memory and Generation Effects in Parkinson's Disease

Dr. Vakil thanked the Board for choosing Jerusalem Bob for choosing hotel. 2 workshops Gordon Vharga-Khadem. 2 mos ago only 19 submissions, now 185. Encourage to submit abstract.

Dr. Bigler reported that the Denver meeting will be outstanding and will emulate the Seattle program. He introduced Darren Cobia as the Program Chair. This will be the 50th anniversary of Norman Geschwind's seminal paper on the Disconnection Syndrome. The focus of the meeting will be on neural networks and connectivity

CE

Dr. Raul Gonzalez thanked Drs. Ponsford and Vasterling for an outstanding program. This was a record breaking year with the most individuals ever registering for CE workshops. He thanked Ave Sofranko and Sue O'Brien for their help.

ILC

Dr. Cherner highlighted one aspect of her report. Dr. John Woodard who led the Research and Editing Consulting Program for many years will be stepping down to become an associate editor of JINS. Dr. Beth Spitznagel will be taking over the RECP.

Awards

Dr. Heaton reported that Dr. Dawn Bowers received the Paul Satz-INS Career Mentoring award (sponsored by PAR, Inc) and Drs. Ida Sue Baron, Robert Ivnik, Catherine (Katie) Mateer, and Edith (Edie) Sullivan received the Distinguished Career award. Dr. Angela Jefferson received the Early Achievement award.

Publications

Dr. Sureyya Dikmen reported that JINS is doing very well and thanked Dr. Haaland for nine years of hard work. There was a smooth transition to the new editor, Dr. Steve Rao. Dr. Haaland expressed her thanks. Dr. Rao thanked Dr. Haaland and said it is a great honor to be reported editor of JINS. He thanked Dr. Igor Grant for appointing him as Associate editor of JINS which got him started.

INS Student Organization

Sommer Thorgusen is the outgoing chair of SLC and is being replaced by Irene Meier. She thanked Drs. Bauer, Chelune, and Bornstein. The committee made a lot of progress which will encourage the growth of INS. We are grateful to Sommer for her hard work these past 4 years. There is a big push to get international students.

Membership Survey Results

There was a good response rate. The membership reported that they valued conference and its scientific quality. Two-thirds of the respondents value science to underpin clinical practice. JINS and the CE program are major resources. The membership is keen to have more resources, such as translating the CE program in other forms to be made available to members. A key priority is students and student activities. Another priority is to increase multidisciplinary membership

Dr. Robert Bornstein officially handed over the Executive Secretary job to Dr. Gordon Chelune.

Adjournment

Dr. Jennie Ponsford handed over her gavel to the next president of INS, Dr. Erin Bigler. Dr. Bigler thanked Dr. Bornstein for the roadmap for the organization which he will implement. He also thanked Dr. Ponsford and the BOG Committee Chairs. He looks forward to running the organization. Dr. Bigler hopes to see everyone in Denver and adjourned the meeting at 6:10 p.m.

Respectfully submitted, Bernice Marcopulos, Board Secretary